top of page

DIY nut milk

Now this has got to be one of the best kept secrets when it comes to saving money and eating healthy!

It honestly is so easy, takes no time, tastes great and saves you $$.

Now let me be clear, if you are going to use expensive nuts and buy them all organic and fair trade then yes making your own nut milk can get pricey of course. So check your prices, watch for sales and decide what fits into your budget.

Today I am going to be sharing how to make coconut milk which is one of my favorite dairy free milks because the flavor is faint, doesn't overpower and is creamy.

I use this milk for everything... recipes, cereal, hot and cold drinks, you name it.

Really all you do is mix your shredded coconut  with boiling water and let that sit for about 30 minutes.

Then blend together in whatever blender you have ( I now have a vitamix but before I just used a magic bullet ) and blend till smooth and creamy.

Then pour it through a nut milk bag which is what I have here or through a few layers of cheese cloth.

Then start squeezing the milk bag until all the liquid comes out:) the leftover pulp you can use in cookies/granola/overnight oats/ macaroons... the options are endless! 

Next pour into whatever container you want to store it in and keep it in the fridge to use within a couple days.

And there you have it! Honestly so easy and takes zero time which is key for this new momma:)

Recipe:

2 cups of shredded coconut

4 cups of boiling water (could add more if you don't want as creamy milk )

splash of vanilla extract or cinnamon to taste

ENJOY!

All photos by Julia Luymes

THE PAIR-ADIGM SHIFT

My goodness what a verse for this season of our life. We were never intended to live this life alone and we were never created to carry the burdens and worries that we do.

As our minds wander to the worries and fears we face everyday remember to pray and give them over to the One who is always in control.  He is not surprised where our world is at and the circumstances we face. He is always present ready to carry our burdens for us.

Oh you bet we try to do it all on our own until it burns us right out and drives us to a place we have a hard time pulling ourselves out of. I always have to remind myself to hand over my cares and worries into God's hands.

Believe me, I’m not perfect and especially as a new mom it’s hard. But the moment I have a thought that comes against me or my family I try to cast it out and give it to God so that I don’t dwell in that place of fear and uncertainty.

I challenge us to try and do this every day and walk in the freedom that it brings!

bottom of page