top of page

Kayley’s Birth Story

October 3rd, 2017.

I was scheduled for an induction October 4th (fun fact: that's Caleb and I's anniversary) at 38 weeks pregnant because I had gestational diabetes and found out I had cystic fibrosis as well. So my doctors wanted me to play it safe and induce me early. I was checked a couple days before my planned induction and my doctor said she was going to induce me a day earlier to get things started. I was SO excited when I woke up October 3rd because I knew today was the day I was getting induced and possibly meeting my baby!!! It was so exciting and not scary at all to me. I was the most scared about the slight possibility of having a C-section so I was just praying that wasn't going to happen. We called and they told us they were really busy that day so I should come in a 4pm. I was a little bummed but just used the day to nest a little more and rest. 

When we got to the hospitaI I had to wait so long in this tiny waiting room with 6 other beds in it and just a thin sheet seperating all the other mommas in there. Some were in excruciating pain waiting for a birthing room and some were in the same boat as me. So I sat in my hospital gown waiting anxiously and finally a doctor came in and got me started. 

He gave me Cervidil (basically like a mini scratchy tampon that they shove wayyyyyyy up in there to get things moving along) at 5:20 pm and monitored me for 2 hours in that little room. After the 2 hours were done and I didn't show any signs of reacting negatively to the cervidil so I was sent home to rest and let the cervidil do its thing. I went to my parents house till 10pm because my husband had a work event to go to and since we had not planned on being induced until the following day, he couldn't cancel it last minute. It all worked out because the cervidil didn't do a dang thing! Caleb came and picked me up and I was sad that I hadn't felt anything! So we went to sleep. I woke up with some cramping and contractions (very mild) at 6am but didn't go in until 8am. They checked me and I was only 1cm. They told us to come back at 4pm and to go for long walks. We walked around the mall for an hour or so and then went to lunch at Ashburnham Alehouse and then home, napped and went on another walk. This is a super unflattering picture of me at our lunch haha. I was so disappointed that the induction wasn't working and just wanted to meet my little babe...

We went back in at 4pm and still no changes so the doctor put another cervidil in (I cringe thinking about this because the second one was a lot more uncomfortable!) We went home and slept. Came back in morning STILL NO CHANGE so they put this gel in a syringe in my cervix (I forgot the name of it) and told us to come back at 5pm...gahhhhh I was getting so frustrated and tired and sore at this point. 

We stayed at the hospital and walked around and just tried to get things going! My family was so sweet and came to walk around with me. Finally as we were walking contractions started! I stopped every 2 minutes to crouch down in pain because they were so strong. I thought yay it's happening!! But no still at 1cm. So I got a nubane shot for the pain (it was 11pm by this point and the contractions were constant and tiring and I am a total baby with pain! Lol). Once I got the shot I tried to rest in the hospital waiting room. There was still no change after all those contractions so they gave me another round of gel and kept me over night. By this time I was quite teary and very sore down there...and had this overwhelming sense of hopelessness. In the morning my favourite doctor came in and checked me. I was still 1-2 cm and cervix very high. I begged for a C-section - hilarious right?! The thing I feared the most was what I wanted so bad. I was desperate! It had been 4 days and now going on the fifth day I was done with all these induction tactics! I had so many doctors hands up my cervix checking me often and inducing me with gels or cervidils. 

So my doctor (who was my original prenatal doctor! And I just loved her) told me that there is one more thing we can try. She was so sweet and calmed me down. 

She didn't want to cut me open just yet. So she gave me a catheter with a balloon at the end to manually dilate me to 3cm (because you can't start the pitocin until you are 3cm). She sent me home and told me to come back at 4pm. Went home slept, watched the hunger games with Caleb, had a nice bath (with a tail from the catheter - it was weird lol) and then walked for 2 hours (again with a huge tail hanging out of me - let's just say I was happy it was a country road). Went back at 4pm and the catheter came out easily which meant I was at 3cm and they could break my water!! They broke it and admitted me to a birthing room. I got hooked up to pitocin and the contractions started quickly. 

They were just mild at first...my Mom, Dad and sister came to visit me but then I started having heavy contractions after about 15 minutes so they left. I starting puking and shaking - it was the worst pain I've ever had but in the midst of it all I was still so excited. I puked all over Caleb twice! Poor guy he was just always in the perfect puking spot.  I requested the epidural at 5cm and the lady came so quick and did an amazing and fast job. I don't remember the pain of the needle because I think the contraction pain was too strong that the needle was just like a prick - it's weird that when it's all over you really do forgot the pain of it all somehow!  Epidural didn't kick in for 15 minutes so I was still having contractions that were very painful! Once the epidural kicked in it was heaven and I felt so comfortable. I went from 5cm to 10cm in under 2 hours. So the nurse sat me up so that gravity could do all the work for me. She wanted to get the baby to push down into the birth canal so that I wouldn't have to push for as long. 

It was finally time to push. They kept telling me to rest while I waited till push time but I was just WAY too excited. God showed me so much during my pregnancy but even in the 5 days of the journey to get to my little Noelyn, I learned so much about His faithfulness. I remember telling the Lord that I feel hopeless and have lost faith. So silly but in that moment I just felt so down. But never once did He forsake me. Crazy how you can tell God your losing faith in Him and He comes closer and shows you how amazing He is. Who else in this world would ever do that for you? He is such a sweet and loving God that He comes near to my broken heart.

My hormones were all overt!he place! I was devastated one minute and the next had a permanent smile because I finally got to be in a birthing room! My poor husband lol. 

God worked everything out for good. He really did show me how big and caring He is with all the little details that made my delivery so amazing. By the time I was ready to push, my doctor that I love had just switched over her shift and was able to deliver Noelyn! I was ecstatic! I also had amazing nurses by my side the entire time. God had prepared the way for us and gave me the most perfect delivery! It felt like a dream. 

I pushed for 1hr 15 mins and she was out.

I remember the moment She came out was magical. I felt the weirdest sensation of pressure and could feel her whole body come out of me even though I had the epidural. It was really cool! I remember doing a quick glance at my husband and seeing the look of pure amazement and shock. All he could say is "woah!". She was put on my chest right away and I just couldn't believe it. She looked right at me and I said "Hi baby". It was honestly love at first sight!

She didn't cry which made us worry a bit and I kept asking the nurses why she wasn't crying but the nurses and doctors assured me that it was normal. She cried about 5 minutes later and I just rubbed her back and basked in the reality that she was ours. I can't really put into words how that moment felt. Everyone told me about that moment and I couldn't wait to experience it. Let me tell you it was everything I dreamed it would be and more!

Birthing life is truly amazing. I'm so grateful and thankful I got to experience it. 

Noelyn Grace Dunn

October 7th, 2017 

7lbs 9oz


bottom of page