top of page

Antiquing my coffee table

I have fallen in love with distressing and antiquing furniture! It is so easy and I have never yet NOT loveeedd any piece I have completed!

Really and truly, I have read different blogs and watched many youtube videos and I was never patient enough or wanted to spend the money to do any of the methods they suggested ha. I haven't yet discovered if that is a bad thing or not!

I honestly just wing it every time and I hope it works for you as well! Chalk paint, special wax.... like why are they soo expensive?? I don't understand.

This was the piece that I started out with that I found for FREEEEEE at the side of the road! Still can't believe it!

So first I roughly sanded down the coffee table and removed the glass from the drawers in the front. (yesss I know our porch also badly needs a paint job ha but try to ignore)

I bought the CIL Platinum brand of paint 2 in 1 paint and primer in the colour antique white at wal-mart and it worked exactly as I hoped and it was half the price!

I started painting the first coat just covering all the wood below the top of the coffee table. I wanted my end look to be a slightly distressed look but without the cracking and chipping so I just painted like normal without any special technique.

After the first coat dried I applied the second coat! As you can tell in this picture above when I paint I paint ha and don't care whether or not I get it everywhere ha and that is why my hubby makes me paint outside and under cardboard pieces. AND yess that is a scrunchy in my hair and they are the bomb and work like a dream!

Then hubs and I just sanded down the parts of the coffee table that you would naturally see wear and tear over the years because they are the parts used the most. For example edges get bumped and rubbed, handles, grooves and the feet of a table. We sanded them just lightly because we wanted a weathered look but not too weathered ha if you know what I mean.

The next step was cutting some chicken wire that we spray painted black and fitting it in place of where the glass drawers were. This added more of a modern look which I've always loved the combo of antique/farmhouse meets modern.

AAANND there you have it! That was it! No wax, chalk paint, special anything just a cheap can of paint in whatever colour you so desire! I will do a post one of these days on a few of my other pieces and the techniques I used to achieve their unique look but that's for another day!

THE PAIR-ADIGM SHIFT

"Now God has offered to us the same promise of entering into his realm of resting in confident faith. So we must be extremely careful to ensure that we all embrace the fullness of that promise and not fail to experience it."

Hebrews 4:1 (Passion Translation)

We need to remember to REST! God needs us to be a people of rest! And confident rest! We need to keep our strength to walk in our rest as a people now a days who busy up our lives and wear ourselves out with stuff.

My friend said to me the other day that we cannot make permanent decisions when we are temporarily tired. Isn't that true?? When we are in a place of exhaustion and tiredness because we haven't stopped to rest we make decisions and respond in ways we don't want to.

PRAYER:

God please help me know when to rest so that I can be alert and aware of what You are doing around me and have the energy to join in.

.

bottom of page